The three-storeyed building was completed in 1874. As soon as 1886 the school became to small for the increasing number of pupils and it had to be extended by a two-storeyed annex in 1891. The still growing number of pupils and new requirements of the municipal building inspection caused another reconstruction by municipal architect Paul Kuhnert (1872-1944) in 1930. The up to date construction plan included horizontal windows in the style of the New Objectivity. In 2003 the “Haus der Jugend” (house of youth) and the youth hostel were opened by the German Youth Hostel Association and the municipal youth work community. This is a common and unique project of co-operation of youth work and youth travel in Germany. The house was renewed again referring to the style of 1930.