The building in Grünheide’s district Kagel was built in 1868. It is a listed monument and was used as the village school until 1973. The old school was carefully refurbished and re-opened in 2010. It is now home to the permanent exhibition ‘Kagel und sein Wasser’ (‘Kagel and its water’). It is dedicated to the lakeland scenery of the surrounding region, whose water has always had a big impact on people’s lives.
The building’s history as a school is also addressed. Visitors can see exercise books and photos of students who attended the school around 1883 and 1950. There are also exhibits relating to local history and a collection of historic postcards.