The church, built of unplastered boulders, is a Gothic hall building from the end of the 14th or beginning of the 15th century. During the Thirty Years' War, the massive west tower probably burned down and was restored by its patrons, the von Löbens, between 1662 and 1669. At that time the interior was also replaced by a baroque altar and pulpit as well as a baptismal font (Fünte) in the same style. All these objects are characterised by their intricate carving work.
In addition, there is a Late Gothic carved altar from 1516 on the northern wall. The attentive observer will also discover late Gothic wrought iron fittings on the southern portal of the church. The quality of the interior decoration is still a special feature of the church today. The organ has a white facade and dates from 1869.