The castle still bears the name of the town of Wiesenburg – after all, the town was first mentioned in 1161 as "Burgwardium Wisenburg". However, nothing can be seen today of the fortified defence complex originally built of wood. But the fieldstone castle tower with up to two-meter thick walls dating back to the beginning of the 13th century is testament to the former castle. The castle complex was gradually converted into a palace, destroyed in the war and then rebuilt. The castle has been privately owned since the 1990s and houses several apartments.
The tower is open to the public. For many years, the tourist information office was located here. This is now accessible barrier-free in the town hall. Inside there is an exhibition, which is currently being redesigned. From up here you can look out over the beautifully landscaped Paark and the alleys at the foot of the tower. The outer circuit is currently still closed due to security measures. The ascent to the tower is free of charge, the opening is half an hour after the opening of the 'Touristerei' tourist info and the closing is half an hour before the closing of the tourist info.