From Altstädtischer Markt, the Altstädtisches Rathaus in Brandenburg an der Havel can be seen in its full glory with its decorative gables in the finest Late Gothic brickwork. The town hall built in about 1430 serves as the town administration office and market hall. The tower, which housed the original courthouse arcade, prison, armoury and town archive, reaches for the sky like a church tower. When the Altstadt and Neustadt districts (Old Town and New Town) were unified in 1715, the Brandenburg administration moved to the Neustädtisches Rathaus (the new town hall, which no longer exists). After centuries of being used for purposes other than what it was intended for and being rescued by Karl Friedrich Schinkel as well as other restoration works, it is once again the seat of the Mayor and Deputy Mayors of Brandenburg.
The stone Roland outside the town hall portal is impossible to miss. Its size and décor bore testament to the town’s commercial prosperity. Originally built in 1474 on the market square of Neustadt, the Roland was moved to the town hall in 1716, as the 5.35 metre high sandstone sculpture hindered the Prussian garrison troops in using the market square as exercise grounds. In 1941, the Roland was dismantled and buried. After the Neustädtisches Rathaus was destroyed in 1945, the statue moved to its current location by the Altstädtisches Rathaus.