The thirteenth century municipal parish church that used to be part of a Cistercian establishment, was badly damaged in April 1945. A new roof was installed on the ruins of the Gothic single-nave church when it was rebuilt between 1992 and 1997. An architecturally unique inserted structure is home to the town library and an additional event room, both of which are accessible via a lift. Secular and religious uses are united under one roof. The building’s excellent acoustic properties are appreciated by musicians and audiences alike. In addition to the series of concerts, the church is a venue for alternating artistic and themed exhibitions. Books, authors and publishers are presented in the ‘Lesbar’, and there area also film screenings and themed evenings. St Mary’s has been a venue of the picture book festival ‘Gloomy and Cheerful’ for several years now.
Visitors can climb to the top of the tower and enjoy stunning views of the surrounding region. If you would like a tour or to climb the tower, please contact us by telephone or email.