There is a view from the Armenhaus (poorhouse) over the new cycle path to meadows and pastures: built in 1839, this idyllically situated building at the Strausberg gate tower – better known as the “Storchenturm” (“Stork Tower”) because of its “top-flooor tenants” – once served as accommodation for needy day labourers, widows and single mothers. A piece of the adjacent city wall was removed for its constructions, while field stones were used for part of the facade. In 1856, further sections of the city wall were removed to build two vaults with large gates. This extension served the local fire brigade as a fire station up until 1965, and the upper flat was rented out until 1985. The Feiert family took over the house in a ruinous condition and got down to work for the five-year renovation – which was funded as a B.3.1 construction measure. By July 1, 1995 a historical gem had been refurbished according to preservation order requirements: the restaurant “Armenhaus”, which attracts tourists and regular guests with its traditional cuisine. Having spent some time previously working for the German postal service Deutsche Post, landlady Angelika Feiert – who was born in Altlandsberg – returned to the old family tradition: her great-grandfather once ran a restaurant in Neuhönow. Sülze (aspic) made from pork knuckle according to great-grandmother Konstanze’s recipe has a place of honour on the menu at the Altlandsberg “poorhouse” – where no one has to starve any more. In winter a different stew is served every day – and turnips, too. By the way: “Fuhre Mist” is very tasty here: a pork steak served with onions, fried egg and fried potatoes!