The village Rießen can look back on 700 years of history. It was founded as a Slavic-German settlement around 1250, and taken over by the Neuzelle Monastery in 1356. The Reformation arrived in 1535, but the (Catholic) abbot of Neuzelle retained his patronage. Between 1733 and 1753 the local residents of Rießen and other village communities fought against the exploitation by the authorities. Coal was drilled for near the village in 1908 and mining took place at the ‘Puck’ mine between 1922 and 1925.
The local history association of Rießen has set up five themed rooms to document the village’s eventful history and to enable visitors to experience it. In addition to crafts, farming and mining, the life of students is shown in a fully recreated school room. The programme is rounded off with special exhibitions.