The castle was built by the des Granges family in 1818/1819, based on a design by Schinkel. In 1864/1865 it was converted and expanded by the Prussian minister of finance von Patow. The current owner, the architect Robert Scholz, has been carefully restoring the building over the past few years, and it is now an attractive architectural gem once again. The church that was built as a single-nave structure in 1818, was designed by one of Schinkel’s students. The tower in the neo-Romanesque style was not added until 1900. Mr Scholz himself gives tours of the castle and the picturesque castle grounds, subject to prior arrangement by telephone.