Klein Kölzig’s brickmaking tradition goes all the way back to the mid-nineteenth century. After the first small private brickyards came about from 1840 onwards, in 1892–94 the corporation “Großer Kurfürst Berlin” set up a brickyard in Klein Kölzig, which until 1962 produced yellow clinker bricks, typical of the Lausitz region. In 1920 a light train was put into operation to transport materials across a 4.5-kilometre stretch of railway.
Today visitors can explore the region’s only brickyard with a fully preserved ring furnace. A tour of the brickyard provides insights into the production processes, characterised by tough manual labour, as well as explaining how the building survived the difficult time after production was stopped. Guests are then taken on a trip on the association’s light train along the first completed section of railway, finding out all about the difficulties of the association’s work.