Schlosspark Marquardt (Marquardt Palace Park) was designed in 1795 as an English landscape garden and is situated by the picturesque Lake Schlänitzsee. Some years later, the park grounds were redesigned on the basis of a drawing by Peter Joseph Lennés. Today the park is a protected historical site and features winding paths, old trees, artificial watercourses and ponds, as well as undulating areas of grassland. The German novelist and poet Theodor Fontane spent time there and dedicated an entire chapter to it in his book “Wanderungen durch die Mark Brandenburg” (Hikes through the Brandenburg Marches). In it he describes the location of the original old-country village as being “just as attractive as its history”.
Marquardt Palace, which looks back on an eventful history, stands in the centre of the parkland. The succession to the former estate and manor house was mentioned as far back as 1313. It was only in 1879 that the former owner of the palace Carl Meyer, who was the Berlin representative of the Essen-based Krupp company, had the palace rebuilt as a two-storey building. After its sale to the steel merchant Dr. Louis Ravené, the palace was transformed by an extension and top storey to the palace we see today. The Kempinski Hotel Group leased the property in 1932 and thus established a popular destination for a day out. During the Second World War, the palace was mainly used as a reserve military hospital. Today, the palace is available to hire for events and continues to be used as a backdrop for well-known cinema and TV productions.