The Old Palace was built around 1556 as a three-wing complex on the ruins of a medieval moated castle. With its unique terracotta ornamentation, it is one of the best known buildings from the North German Renaissance period. Today, it is used for historically-styled weddings and exhibitions. Just a few metres away, the New Castle stands resplendent after several years of restoration. The building constructed at the start of the 16th century cannot fail to impress people with the sheer size of its appearance. As the site of the visitor information centre, the New Castle is the first point of contact for guests of all Freyenstein's tourist attractions, including the Archaeological Park. Tickets are sold in the New Palace and this is also where all the guided tours start. The large “Große Hofstube” function room provides plenty of space for celebrations, events and weddings. The Municipal Library is housed in the 2nd floor of the palace.