The monastery in Neuzelle has two churches: St Mary’s Abbey was for the monastery only, while the smaller cruciform church was intended for public pastoral care. The monks from Neuzelle were dedicated to taking care of the region’s remaining Catholics after the Reformation. For this purpose, the rococo style Holy Cross Church was built around 1730. The arches that are decorated with beautiful strapwork open up towards the chancel with its impressive cupola. Here visitors can admire Lower Lusatia’s biggest ceiling fresco, depicting the triumph of the Catholic Church.
The cruciform church can be visited individually or in the context of tours (please register at the Neuzelle visitor information centre). However, visiting options are currently limited, due to ongoing refurbishment work in the cruciform church.