The Fischerstraße, one of the oldest and most beautiful streets in Frankfurt (Oder), was in the 15th century home to fishermen as well as craftsmen, labourers and carters. While the north of the city, namely in the Lebus suburb, featured a district of privileged fishermen, this did by no means apply to this settlement in the Guben suburb. The approximately one hundred small, thatched houses sheltered impoverished people, whose homes were constantly flooded during high tides. Nowadays, the buildings in the the outermost northern and southern parts predominantly stem from the 18th and 19th centuries. The remaining gaps between buildings have been filled with new houses Since 2000. The most unlikely feature in the entire street is the baroque, unfortunately empty and unrefurbished country house at No. 6, which was built in the last third of the 18th century, when the suburbs of Guben turned into a "summer residence" for many of Frankfurt's residents. It is one of the few preserved baroque country houses in Brandenburg that were built in the immediate vicinity of the old town. In 1896, the General Electric Company AEG established a tram depot in its large garden, extending all the way to the Bachgasse.
At the time of the German reunification, the Fischerstraße was in a disastrous state. Almost at the very last minute it was spared from demolition and had the good fortune of having dedicated Frankfurters fight for the reestablishment of its original structural integrity. Alas, with success: the entire street with its colourful houses is now under a preservation order - during a highly recommended stroll one can currently admire the most picturesque iterations of these homes!