The impressive brick structure is the oldest building of the Peitzer Land region and an important witness of fortification history. Visitors can discover the original building’s medieval roots from the time around 1300.
In the mid-16th century, Italian master builders converted the tower into the main fortification tower. Up to six metres thick walls and massive barrel vaults were added. It is now home to a museum. The grand hall is used as a venue for concerts, celebrations and weddings. From the 35 metres tall ridge turret, visitors can enjoy stunning panoramic views of the town and the surrounding area.