The palace of Fürstlich-Drehna, built in the second half of the 16th century, came into the possession of Count Balthasar Erdmann von Promnitz at the end of that century: he then had the complex rebuilt in the late Renaissance style. At the end of the 18th century the owner was a count, namely Moritz Graf zu Lynar: after he was made a prince in 1806, the town was given the name of Fürstlich Drehna (“Fürst” is German for “prince”). Today, the castle is a four-wing complex with two mighty round towers and a square tower: it has housed a 4-star hotel since autumn 2007.
The undisputed gem of the palace is its park, which was transformed into a landscape park in 1819 with the involvement of Peter Joseph Lenné. The park has a variety of different types of trees. With its bridges, waterways and curved paths, it is a showcase of Romantic horticultural art of the 19th century.